Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 [2]  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Belding and Mull measure drop tubes (Read 1260 times)
JHand
Participating Member

Re: Belding and Mull measure drop tubes
Reply #15 - Apr 26th, 2024 at 1:12pm
Print Post  
marlinguy wrote on Apr 26th, 2024 at 10:38am:
I have a brass tube B&M measure and used to use it a lot, but my Harrell's is all I use also. A couple years ago a friend stumbled across a plastic hopper B&M brand new in it's original box and offered it to me cheap, so I had to buy it. It just sits on a shelf looking pretty.

I am just getting into the sport and will be using my belding and mull to start. Does the Barrels just give you more precise adjustments?

IP Logged

marlinguy
Frequent Elocutionist

Ballards may be weaker,
but they sure are neater!

Reply #16 - Apr 26th, 2024 at 2:37pm
Print Post  
JHand wrote on Apr 26th, 2024 at 1:12pm:

I am just getting into the sport and will be using my belding and mull to start. Does the Barrels just give you more precise adjustments?

Do you mean "Harrells" vs. Barrels? If so I went to the Harrells because a few friends raved about theirs, and I found one cheap at an estate sale missing the hopper. Since hoppers are dirt cheap I ordered 5 of them from a medical supply company and started using it. 
The click adjustments make it very repeatable, and so much so that I can ask a friend his setting for a particular powder and charge, and dial in the same number of clicks and mine is right there. I keep different powders in their sealed hopper bottles, and have charges written on the side. Just screw them on the measure and dial in the clicks and it's ready to go again. Makes changing powders and charges super quick.
And it is the most accurate measure I've used. Drawback is they're spendy. I could have bought two at the sale for $50 each, and left one like an idiot!

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links)

IP Logged

Green_Frog
Frequent Elocutionist