Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Action case coloring/hardening (Read 2504 times)
mdeland
Ex Member

Action case coloring/hardening
Jul 27th, 2008 at 6:49pm
Print Post  
I thought it might be interesting to have a discussion on this fascinating  topic that I am a rookie at but have been doing and learning about.
I first gathered all the information I could get from Oscar Gaddy's writings, who I understand has gone over the great divide, and begin to assemble all the various hardware and equipment needed to make this happen. 
It took me two tries to come up with the crucible shape I wanted for single shot and Mauser rifle actions. Gaddy always used stainless pipe but I made my in rectangular form using channel iron welded together. 
  Gaddy mostly did shotgun actions but single shot rifle actions are so similar in size and shape I found the information universal. 
  I used Brownells charcoal but have been collecting moose and caribou bones to make my own so as to avoid the hasmat  fees to Alaska.
  The Uberti case job did not turn out as striking as several others I have done but when drilling and tapping a hole in the upper tang I found a very satisfactory improvement in casing depth over the factory job as well as an improvement in color. The case is several thousands deeper and the core still soft.
  So far in my limited experience I have found that a 50/50 mix of bone to hardwood charcoal to produce the best results. 
Several things are critical to get right for safety and color.
1. temperature/ duration 1325 - 1400 degrees F. , 1. 5 hours at full temperature
2. depth of drop to quench 2-3 inches
3. Aeration of quench water
4. charcoal packed around all metal parts and no voids
  All parts should be braced correctly to minimize warpage. Side plates and bolts can be added to somewhat control color pattern and placement.