Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Pedersoli Trapdoor target rifle (Read 21449 times)
klw
Ex Member

Pedersoli Trapdoor target rifle
Jan 15th, 2006 at 2:45pm
Print Post  
S.906  Springfield Trapdoor Long Range Rifle

Anybody shot one of these a lot?  If so, what do you think of it?

IP Logged

boats
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: Pedersoli Trapdoor target rifle
Reply #1 - Jan 16th, 2006 at 1:59pm
Print Post  
Never seen one, think they are on the web-site. ?

A long time ago I had a mind to build a long range rifle on a Trapdoor action.  I even reserched the Arsenal target rifles that were campaigned in the late 19th Century. I have owned several Issue Trapdoors, one that shoots pretty good.  But droped the project when I started shooting Schuetzen

Clearly there would be some compramises to a long range gun on that action/lock but they were fairly competitive in there day.

The origionals as I recall had Sharps sights, Bull barrels, (Bull was one of Springfield Arsenals Armorers) and were stocked with I think a Lee Magazine rifle stock. In any event it had a shotgun butt plate and straight comb.  They were also 45/90's

Except for the problems with cleaning from the muzzle I would think they would be as competitive as a Sharps.  Long and heavy hammer fall would be the limiting factor. 

Let me know if they are on a web-site 

Boats

IP Logged

boats
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #2 - Jan 16th, 2006 at 2:19pm
Print Post  
Found it.

It's not realy a long range rifle more a copy of one of the conversions of issue rifles for target shooting. Thats what my favorate Trapdoor is, There are some limitations.

The Pedersoli is 45/70, has the wooden pistol grip added ,as well as a tang sight. The Stock looks issue in shape.