Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 2 [3] 4  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) .22 Hard Extraction - Bulged Case (Read 2945 times)
John Taylor
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: .22 Hard Extraction - Bulged Case
Reply #30 - Jun 30th, 2024 at 8:51am
Print Post  
I have been installing liners for about 25 years and I don't care for the extractors on H&As. I have messed up a few over the years and had to figure out a way to fix chambers. For chamber repairs I usually use a short piece of modern barrel the right caliber. Bore the back of the barrel oversize and thread it. Thread the short barrel piece to fit and using a rod to insure it lines up with the bore it is installed with loctite. Then trimmed to length and chambered. All this is done in a lathe to insure the chamber reamer runs true. Liners are made from 4130 steel which does not alway cut smooth. Redman liners are button rifled and T.J.'s are hammer forged. Modern barrels are made from 4140 heat treated steel or 416 SS. Most of the time I use a Bentz reamer for 22LR but in some cases this will create to much pressure and the case can let go at the extractor cut. A Lilja chamber  will not work on most falling blocks and is usually for bolt guns. If you do it this way make sure you clean up an excess loctite out of the bore before it gets hard, It's not easy toe remove when it gets hard.

John Taylor   Machinist/gunsmith
IP Logged

Dellet
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #31 - Jun 30th, 2024 at 10:32am
Print Post  
For some reason I can’t see page 2 of responses, hope this wasn’t covered there.

It looks like a bad chamber, or larger than the original. The extractor look proud of the chamber.
If the extractor is holding the case up, easy enough to check, fire it without the extractor.

A chamber cast would not be a bad idea.

There is a significant (relative) pressure difference between the CCI Quiet and CB shorts, due to the 25% increase in bullet weight.