Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Pedersoli Rolling Blocks? (Read 1503 times)
awp101

Pedersoli Rolling Blocks?
Jan 29th, 2024 at 4:39pm
Print Post  
In my ongoing searches of the forum as I try to research whatever harebrained project comes into my head before starting a new thread, I've run across several mentions of Pedersoli Rolling Blocks being...subpar.  Particularly the Navy Arms imports.

What I haven't seen (to the best of my recollection at least) is what the actual (or perceived) problems were and if they were corrected in later years.

Any insight would be appreciated, thanks!

The Wheels of Justification grind slowly but inexorably

IP Logged

marlinguy
Frequent Elocutionist

Ballards may be weaker,
but they sure are neater!

Re: Pedersoli Rolling Blocks?
Reply #1 - Jan 29th, 2024 at 7:59pm
Print Post  
I have no experience with those marked and sold by Navy Arms, but those marked Pedersoli have a very good reputation, and I've had friends who bought them and were very happy with accuracy, fit and finish.
I think like many "store branded" firearms there are sometimes corners cut in quality of wood, or various steps to make them sell cheaper. This may be the case with the Navy Arms versions.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links)

IP Logged

ssdave
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #2 - Jan 29th, 2024 at 11:39pm
Print Post  
Like many products, the problems depend on the era when the product was made.

When Pedersoli first got into the replica business, they did primarily cheap blackpowder muzzleloader replicas.  The fit and finish was poor, and metal quality was low and heat treatment was non-existent.  They then began producing rolling block actions.  The quality was about the same as the muzzleloaders.  A lot of those early actions were sold to Navy Arms to sell in the US.