Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic .45-70 Crimp (Read 877 times)
Jimsan
Participating Member

.45-70 Crimp
Sep 30th, 2023 at 3:52pm
Print Post  
Good day. I'm a newbie and currently load and shoot a ShilohSharps .45-70. I never could find a taper Crimp Die, but the other day I got a LEE Factory Crimp Die at Buffalo Arms. I used it yesterday and following instructions I re-pressed 10 loaded rounds into this die and applied extra pressure that put a tiny rolled crimp on the case mouth. today I thought I'd re-do another ten rounds and look at the collet in the die and stop pressure as soon as I saw the four elements inside the die just touch each other. This would not put the rolled crimp on the case, but it would assure that I'd be getting the same pressure on the cast bullet such that I could expect consistent velocities. Do you gentlemen have a peference for either a rolled crip or just a flat crimp. Either one, I shall try out at our range up here in Sandpoint, Idaho. Thank you in advance.   Shiloh Jim

Jimsan

IP Logged

silver

Re: .45-70 Crimp
Reply #1 - Sep 30th, 2023 at 5:08pm
Print Post  
I use the sizing die adjusted just to put enough 
Case pressure on the bullet it will spin but not fall out when loading

IP Logged

Tom_Trevor assra life no.71
Oldtimer

Tom Trevor

Reply #2 - Sep 30th, 2023 at 5:44pm
Print Post  
Neck tension only. Fire a crimped round with your rifle and look at the fired case the crimp will still be there!So how did the bullet squeze out of the case?

IP Logged

SchwarzStock
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #3 - Sep 30th, 2023 at 6:01pm
Print Post  
Jimsan wrote on Sep 30th, 2023 at 3:52pm: