Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic My attempts at pp are improving (Read 1242 times)
Bulseyetom
Oldtimer

My attempts at pp are improving
Jul 25th, 2020 at 12:35pm
Print Post  
I have been working with a 40-70 SS Hepburn for several months and now that the rifle range has re-opened I am getting to shoot more.  I decided just as the pandemic hit to start casting again after many years away from shooting mostly muzzleloaders and with the help of many on this forum came up with a gg and pp bullet design and had Accurate Moulds make me some single cavity moulds.  Using Roto-metal 20-1 and a RCBS pot I have learned how to cast fairly decent bullets and my reject rate has dropped considerably.  Jerry Cleave built me a beautiful breech seating tool for the Hepburn and I am now starting to put the pieces together.  The rifle has an aperture front sight and an MVA Soulle rear with a Hadley eye disc.  My poor old eyes play hell at 100 yards but I can see everything sharp at 50 so most of my shooting has been at the closer range.  I am still learning the sight adjustments as I have mostly shot for groups but am now starting to dabble shooting for score even though I am at 50 yards.  I am now even more impressed with all of you that shoot great scores as that adds quite a bit of challenge over just a small group somewhere on the target.  Pictured are 2 groups I shot yesterday with 21 grains of IMR 4227 and a 340 grain gg bullet and a 330 gr pp bullet.  I did not change the sight settings for the pp group as I did not want to chase my sight settings and open up the group.  The load of 21 grains was just a grab out of the air with no prior testing.  For the first time I am starting to see results with my paper patched bullet that are comparable to the greaser.  Now that I know the pp bullet will shoot I am going to concentrate on some smokeless fixed loads to see if I can get a hunting load.  The rifle has a 4 pound trigger and is perfect for hunting.  As the