Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Best Lube (Read 1655 times)
hepburnman
Senior Forum Member

Best Lube
Mar 18th, 2020 at 12:39pm
Print Post  
I have been using SPG lube for many years. It gives me good performance, as far as I can tell. I do not really have a fouling-drying problem if I am careful. I wipe with a damp patch between shots and I have switched back to Swiss 1.5 Fg from 3 Fg. On really hot days I could see that the fowling would tend towards drying out with my ~70 gr loads when using 3 Fg in a 40-65 case. Not so much now with 1.5 Fg.

Not sure I need to try and improve my lube but what are the current experiences with any of the new (or still good old) lubes? Has anyone made comparisons and can recommend a definitive lube that is superior? 

May be opening a can of worms but at least they will be well lubed  Roll Eyes

IP Logged

gunlaker
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: Best Lube
Reply #1 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 1:20pm
Print Post  
You will probably get a bunch of different opinions, but I like DGL more than SPG in hotter weather.  However I have not used the new SPG Tropical which I'd like to try.   

Dave's Alberta Schuetzen Lube works quite well in black powder rifles also.   

Chris.

IP Logged

GrumpyBear

Reply #2 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 2:03pm
Print Post  
My vote is for D.G.L also works very well, thanks Chris.

Μολὼν λαβέ

Don't pick a fight with an old man. If he is too old to fight, he'll just kill you.

Shash-yazhi -bear-cub

Brian

IP Logged

RSW
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #3 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 2:12pm
Print Post  
hepburnman
I live in the Arizona desert and for warm or hot weather (or any other weather for that matter) I've found SPG Tropic just plain works. I shoot breech seated - grooved bullets pan lubed with SPG Tropic. Then drop-tube case with Swiss or Olde E leaving enough space for card-oleo-card wad stack. Oleo is .09 (1/8 th inch) cookie of SPG Tropic.