Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 2 [3]  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) C Sharps vs Shiloh?? (Read 17503 times)
chawk

Re: C Sharps vs Shiloh??
Reply #30 - Nov 12th, 2016 at 7:34am
Print Post  
I'm going to throw my opinion in here but before I do I want everyone to know that I am not insulting anybody's gun.  I'm just voicing my opinion based on my limited experience.

I've owned a C.Sharps 1875 and handled a few 1874's and 1885's from them.  I was always disappointed.  Basically I think they are ugly.  The wood seems to be at least a grade or two below everyone else's wood and they put a very dull finish on it that makes it look even worse.  The flats on their octagon barrels all have rounded edges, maybe even by design.  The inletting on my '75 was mediocre.  I could go on but you get the point.  Notice I didn't say anything about how they worked, shot, etc...  Obviously I am not an expert and this is based on a small sample size but that is my experience and my opinion.

IP Logged

Ol_Deuce
Senior Forum Member

Reply #31 - Nov 13th, 2016 at 12:20am
Print Post  
Well ..The fit and finish on my Shiloh is "PERFECT" the Wood
the case color. WoW !! I ran over 4000 rounds through it. It
looks Now as it did when I got it!!!Test of Time .....she's a good one ! What I saw when I was shopping in the early 90s  The Shiloh was the right choice!!!   

Ol Deuce

Do The Best With What You Got !!!

IP Logged

gunlaker
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #32 - Nov 13th, 2016 at 11:37am
Print Post  
That's interesting chawk.   I would say that on all but one of my C. Sharps rifles, the inletting is as good as my Shilohs.  I agree with you on the wood, and the rounded octagon "flats".  i do like the way mine look, but most of mine have extra fancy wood.

I've always had good dealings with the people at C. Sharps, although the customer service at Shiloh is on an entirely different level.  In my experience, the only company that does as well on customer service is CPA.