Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Global front sight & insert (Read 3514 times)
Roscoe
Participating Member

Global front sight & insert
Feb 28th, 2016 at 4:08pm
Print Post  
I'm just getting started in shooting with the vernier style sights.  My current rifles are all scoped and I thought I would have one set up with a Baldwin or similar style.

The current plan is to use a global style front sight with an insert.  Wearing prescription glasses, what is a good insert to use?

IP Logged

Ciao998
Senior Forum Member

Re: Global front sight & insert
Reply #1 - Feb 28th, 2016 at 4:54pm
Print Post  
Almost everyone uses an aperture front insert that is large enough to see a ring of white around the colored scoring rings.

John

IP Logged

Schuetzenmiester
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #2 - Feb 28th, 2016 at 5:04pm
Print Post  
I liked a bead on a post on offhand back in the days when I could see irons sights.

"some old things are lovely, warm still with life ... of the forgotten men who made them." - D.H. Lawrence

IP Logged

John Boy
Ex Member

Reply #3 - Feb 28th, 2016 at 5:11pm
Print Post  
Quote:
what is a good insert to use?

Roscoe, I wear prescription glasses also.  
Starting point:Had the optician set the long distance reading bifocal at 10mm high (keeps the head high with no bent neck) on the stock and in the office used various strength pieces of optics so a small object in the office was crystal clear at a distance of 30" ... focal plane on a rifle  When looking through the ocular on the vernier a clear front sight is the objective.