Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) 45-120 questions (Read 17963 times)
guitarzann
Ex Member

45-120 questions
Oct 6th, 2005 at 10:21pm
Print Post  
Hey guys I am a newbie here and with single shot rifles so pls keep that in mind and be gentle ha.
I am looking at getting a  45-120 but don't really want to spend 1K. cheap huh. what do you guys know about the following company? are they reliable, are the rifles fair quality etc?
(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links)

also what realistic diffrences are there, velocity, range etc between a 28" barrel and a 32" barrel. I didn't know anyone else that could answer those questions for me and I know ya'll can. your advise is appreciated. " If you don't know, ask them that do"

IP Logged

PETE
Ex Member

Re: 45-120 questions
Reply #1 - Oct 6th, 2005 at 10:41pm
Print Post  
guitarzann,

As the old saying goes...... You get what you pay for!

Can't say I've ever heard of Pedretti & Sons, but if the particular rifle you want to get is made by Pedersoli they are considered to be the best of the Italian makers. The web site leaves you in doubt as to who actually is making these guns, or the particular model you want. Sounds like you'll take pot luck in that regard which might be a big mistake on your part.

You don't mention what you want to use a .45/120 for, or what powder you want to shoot in it. The 1000 yd. shooters feel a .45/90, with BP, is all that's needed for that game. Shooting BP the /120 will give you more fouling issues than the .45/70 advertised. If you're planning on shooting only smokeless then the .45/70 is more than you'll ever need for anything in the way of targets or game on this continent.

A longer barrel will give you a little more velocity if you're planning on using BP. With smokeless it won't make enuf difference to notice. The longer barrel is useful if you plan on using iron sights.

PETE

IP Logged

Ray_Newman