Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic factory crim die (Read 746 times)
Joe_S
Oldtimer

factory crim die
Oct 19th, 2023 at 7:54pm
Print Post  
Hello everyone!

I have been using IMR 4759 and Accurate 5744 in my 45-70's for many years, and as we all know, both powders are famous for leaving lots of unburned powder in the chamber and bore. This has never been a problem until recently when I started shooting one of my trapdoors more often. The unburned powder interferes with the proper seating of the cartridge and often times requires that I keep a chamber brush on hand. 
I have heard that crimping the bullet in the case can  help reduce the amount of unburnt powder. I am on the verge of ordering a Lee factory crimp die, but would like to know if anyone has had first hand experience with a factory crimp die and these powders in 45-70 and if it actually works. I use the Lee factory crimp die in my .223 and 8x57 and like it a lot, but this is a different problem. I have avoided crimping my 45-70s up to now because it was not needed. I use it in the other cartridges to unsure consistent neck pressure and make sure the bullet doesnt get dislodged during the feed process which is non-existent in a Sharps or Trapdoor. 
Please let me know if anyone has tried it with these powders and if it helps reduce unburnt powder.
Thanks!
Joe S

IP Logged

GT
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: factory crim die
Reply #1 - Oct 20th, 2023 at 12:04am
Print Post  
Joe,
I have a couple of opinions I'll share that have worked for me.  I started with a lengthy reply then tried to remove some of my biases...

The crimp die has never given me anything but headaches- especially with cast bullets.