Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3 4 Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Black powder volume to weight? (Read 3261 times)
marlinguy
Frequent Elocutionist

Ballards may be weaker,
but they sure are neater!

Black powder volume to weight?
Oct 6th, 2023 at 5:06pm
Print Post  
I'm fairly new to loading BP, with only about 18 months so far, and only for one rifle, my .45-70 Hepburn.
I recently began reloading for my Freund Sharps in .50-140 using Swiss 1.5fg powder. My question is concerning the weighed charges for my full loads. Leaving enough space to seat my wad, and a 500 gr. paper patched bullet, with maybe .060" compression, and using a 24" drop tube, all I get in my case with Swiss 1.5 is 120 grains. That's about 15% less than the rated capacity of 140 grs.
I know modern cases hold less with their solid head, and there are variables in powders. But on my .45-70 using the same method, powder, and compression, I get 64 grs. with a 535 gr. bullet.
Just would appreciate some input on what seems like a large difference in rated volume vs. weighed volume for this cartridge.

And another question. Has anyone ever heard of Eldorado cartridge brass? Most of my cases are headstamped "Eldorado .50 Sharps".
Other cases are marked Bell, and Jamison, which I'm familiar with. A 4th lot is marked Brass Extrusion Laboratories in Bensenville, Illinois, another unknown to me? Those cases are unstamped, but the info is on the boxes. Only info I could find on this company shows it was incorporated in 1974, and James Bell listed as the contact person. Is this maybe the same Bell of Bell brass? Also shows this company is dissolved.

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links)

IP Logged

Premod70
Oldtimer

Re: Black powder volume to weight?
Reply #1 - Oct 6th, 2023 at 5:12pm
Print Post  
The Bell brass is the same as the Brass Extrusion, James is the son of Jim Bell of Bells Gunshop in Highland Park, Ill. Good folks and good brass.