Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Duplex Loads (Read 2558 times)
Aussie_Hunter

Duplex Loads
Jul 16th, 2020 at 6:57am
Print Post  
I am new to the world of "Black" rifle shooting, and ask your help,  I have a Low Wall 38-55 that I have been loading with 4.0g AP-70 (Hodgkins equiv Universal) and topped with 42.0g Wano FFF. behind a 265g projectile. I was getting pretty clean bores (especially when using Curtis & Harvey English powder), but now have changed to using the same load but behind a 240g projectile, fantastic accuracy but horrible bbl fouling, is the problem caused by the drop in projectile weight/ lower pressure, or just different powder?
I am also loading, for one of our shooting group, 5.0gAP-100 (close to Hodgkins HS-6) with 55.0g Wano FFF in his 45/70 H&R break action rifle behind 300g projectiles, and also getting signifigant bbl fouling shot by shot.
I used to be able to shoot at least six shots from my 38-55 without needing to clean when using 265g projectiles, but now appear to need to clean after every second shot, do I need to increase the nitro  component to make up for the lower pressures (because of lighter projectiles) or have I completely missed the point? Your huge knowledge pool hopefully may give me the solution, thank any of you that read this,and perhaps answer.

IP Logged

irish66
Oldtimer

Re: Duplex Loads
Reply #1 - Jul 16th, 2020 at 10:04am
Print Post  
My only experience with duplex, was 5 grs imr 4759 with 65 grs goex 2 fg black one card wad 535 gr postel in a 45-70
In my 38-55 i shoot straight black goex cartridge with a 330 gr noe slug
At 1500 fps.
Want to say i would try about 9% smokeless like imr 4227 with 45 grs black and a card wad.
Lighter bullet most likely want less powder.

IP Logged

Jeff_Schultz
ASSRA Board Member

Reply #2 - Jul 16th, 2020 at 4:07pm
Print Post  
  "In my 38-55 i shoot straight black goex cartridge with a 330 gr noe slug
At 1500 fps".