Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) 12.7 Swede bore size and boolits (Read 3596 times)
Jack951
Participating Member

12.7 Swede bore size and boolits
Jun 10th, 2020 at 9:01pm
Print Post  
So I just slugged a 12.7 Swede and the bore measures .517 groove to groove and .476 land to land. I have several molds on hand for shooting in an 1858 Smith. They drop boolits at 515 to 520 and from 340gr to 380gr depending on design. I have one that drops at 517 and is a slightly modified 50/70 design. Is this difference between land and groove normal? Would it be ok to load the 517 modified boolit for the Swede?

Sorry but I'm a bit of a noob in BPCR reloading but I've done lots of conventional centerfire and muzzleloading.

A gentleman cannot have too much red wine, too many good books nor too much ammunition
Rudyard Kipling

N-SSA Competitor
NRA Muzzleloading Instructor

IP Logged

svartkruttgris#369
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: 12.7 Swede bore size and boolits
Reply #1 - Jun 11th, 2020 at 7:01pm
Print Post  
Suggest that you also measure diameter of bore just ahead of chamber. Most old BP 12,7X44R rifles/barrels I have loaded for had much larger bores just ahead of chamber and for 5-15 cm down the bore, thanks to erosion/rust. Front of chambers were often so rusted that they too were oversize, once rust removed. I got best groups at 100s of Meters by using very soft lead bullets slightly oversize for eroded part of bore. Usually these were 0,520 to 0,525. Most were near 0,515 in bores. These were all well used hunting rifles in Norway or Sweden.

Also smoothed the eroded/rusted area with fine grit, which always improved groups. 

These are SOP for those of us that wanted quite adequate groups from old rifles, without expense of reboring, relining, rebarreling. We bought them to shoot for lesser demanding uses than BPCR. Never heard of anyone using 12,7X44R for BPCR.