Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Breach Seating gap. (Read 5642 times)
Dusty Rhodes

Breach Seating gap.
Jun 7th, 2020 at 5:41am
Print Post  
Hi all,
I'm looking for information on the practice of Breach seating. In particular the gap between the mouth of the Case and the Base of the bullet, and, the importance of Case length. Breach seating is not new to me, I have been shooting this way for 4 years, with several different calibers and with Smokeless and Black Powder, with some excellent results.
When I started out I was told that the Gap must be 1/16th (.062"). I have since learnt that the gap can vary considerably and with different rifles it has to change. 
If the idea of breach seating is to improve accuracy by creating the same back pressure, by pushing the cast projectile up into the Lands (rifling) and sealing the bore against gas leakage, what has the gap between case and bullet got to do with it and, if the gap is crucially important, then obviously case length must be important too. What happens with case length if the best load is not a full case of powder as in most smokeless loads, is it better to use a filler ?
I have a great book (The modern Schutzen rifle. by Schwartz and Dell) and a print off of "The Golden age of American Schutzenfest" which I re read now and again but some answers are missing.  I note that the gap was initially started by those who muzzle loaded, BPC Rifles, for no other reason (after testing) than to leave room for fouling to sit which was pushed down the barrel during muzzle loading. 
Do we need a gap when breach sesting ? Could I trim my cases longer to get more BP in them  and have no gap ? 
Let's hear what you've got gentlemen, I love the topic.  Cheers Dusty. 👍🇦🇺

IP Logged

RSW
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: Breach Seating gap.
Reply #1 - Jun 7th, 2020 at 11:13am
Print Post  
Dusty Rhodes