Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) different cast bullets (Read 7767 times)
dave_j

different cast bullets
Apr 1st, 2020 at 7:20pm
Print Post  
i have been casting bullets for nearly 45 years and think i can cast some decent bullets. i recently tried to cast some 30 cal bullets fora 308 winchester and went to a hard linotype mix. i usually cast at about 725 degrees for my schuetzen bullets. the harder bullets dont like that temp. i raised the temp to around 800 and they were frosty. dropped to 650 and they are better but dont want to jump out of the mold. can someone explain why the harder melt is so different   thanks    dave

ah heck  AA#9,4227,300MP, as long as it goes bang

IP Logged

rgchristensen
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: different cast bullets
Reply #1 - Apr 1st, 2020 at 7:38pm
Print Post  
DAVE:
       A lot of things have changed....  The solidification takes place over a wider temperature range, and at a lower temperature.   Since the bullets solidify at a lower temperature, the thermal contraction as they cool is less, so they don't shrink as much from the mould.   That accounts for their sticking in the mould a little.
        Also, they solidify over a larger range of temperature.   There are a batch of crystals in a puddle of liquid, and when they finally solidify, the liquid contracts into the center.   This is the reason for the "frosty" bullets.
       So there are a LOT of things going on that you are not used to.  Going to a lower temperature is the right thing to do, probably.   
      Do you NEED a harder bullet?   I have pretty much abandoned antimonial (ternary) alloys and stick with lead/tin and get along pretty good in the smokeless calibers at low (1400fps) velocities.

CHRIS
RGChristensen

IP Logged

dave_j

Reply #2 - Apr 1st, 2020 at 7:45pm
Print Post