Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Schoyen chambers (Read 6986 times)
Geezer
Participating Member

Schoyen chambers
Sep 23rd, 2018 at 11:17am
Print Post  
Were all of Schoyen's 38-55 barrels chambered for the 2.125 case? Stupid question in a sense because mine accepts that case -- barely-- and yes, I'm going to make a chamber cast. But that will answer the question for my rifle alone.
The issue, really, is whether or not my rifle is an actual Schoyen? I bought it from Steve Garbe and he adamantly claims that John Dutcher told him it was. The rifle has Schoyen type rifling. Problem is I'm an old-fashioned newspaper editor, reporter, columnist, and unless I have at least three ironclad verifications -- for anything--I don't believe it. There is no written, signed and verified provenance for the rifle. It is, however a blindingly accurate Ballard (Pacific receiver) that has all the earmarks of the Schoyen period. The barrel has not been stamped with Schoyen's name, nor does it have "Petersen" stamped on it. The barrel was browned and it still has most of that coloring on it. The receiver has the protruding pin on its left side and I'm having a breech seater made for it.
Any comments on reliable verification procedure will be appreciated, and do any of you know how to directly contact John Dutcher? I believe he's in Denver, CO and I'm willing to go down there if I can make contact with him.
This could be a pretty valuable rifle IF it's really a Schoyen, or it could be just another single-shot pipe dream that wins matches.

IP Logged

John Boy
Ex Member

Re: Schoyen chambers
Reply #1 - Sep 23rd, 2018 at 11:41am
Print Post  
Quote:
Problem is I'm an old-fashioned newspaper editor, reporter, columnist, and unless I have at least three ironclad verifications -- for anything--I don't believe it.
Geezer - make it 4 verification's - do a cast of the chamber

IP Logged

Statesrights
Senior Forum Member