Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Techniques for the Best Off-Hand Performance (Read 5425 times)
hepburnman
Senior Forum Member

Techniques for the Best Off-Hand Performance
Jun 25th, 2018 at 11:08am
Print Post  
I am hoping that we can start a discussion of what constitutes good techniques for maximizing off-hand shooting performance. Techniques that can be used specifically for BPCR Silhouette and shooting these types of rifles at the Chicken target.

Although I have been competing in this sport for over 15 years I am still a novice when it comes to off-hand shooting. One technique that I have been slow to learn is the natural point of aim (NPA) where you position yourself to shoot at the chickens but you do so at first with your eyes closed and then open them to see where your sights are pointing. You then adjust your feet to align more with the target and again, with your eyes closed you then open them to see if you are naturally pointing at the target. You keep doing this process until you are pointing at the target. You would then put the rifle down to relax your muscles before aiming again for your first shot. I have also heard something about describing figure "8s" with your sights, while trying to steady/time the shot let off, but I am not quite at this point yet!  Tongue

What techniques have worked for other?!

IP Logged

Cat_Whisperer
Frequent Elocutionist

No 1, 9.3x74R

Re: Techniques for the Best Off-Hand Performance
Reply #1 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 12:48pm
Print Post  
BOATS is the man to watch at the match!

Cat Whisperer (trk)
Chief of Smoke
Pulaski Coehorn Works and Skunk Works
Drafted May 1970, Retired Maj. U.S.Army
assra #9885
IP Logged

emmett22405

Reply #2 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 1:44pm
Print Post  
Hep--  try eg (You need to Login or Register to view media files and links) authored by the USAMU--pretty good shooters