Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Convert or not convert rimfire Civil War Ballard (Read 3002 times)
rraffl
Participating Member

Convert or not convert rimfire Civil War Ballard
Apr 27th, 2018 at 8:46am
Print Post  
I have a Merwin and Bray Civil War Ballard in 56-56 and am wondering if I should have it converted to center fire. I'm no expert but I think that it is in very good condition. All the parts are there, no cracks and the stock finish is original. The only issue from a collector's view is that it looks like someone tried to rub some instant blue on the barrel. Just looking for an opinion.

Thanks
« Last Edit: Apr 27th, 2018 at 8:59am by rraffl »  

IP Logged

Bent_Ramrod
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: Convert or not convert rimfire Civil War Ballard
Reply #1 - Apr 27th, 2018 at 9:28am
Print Post  
I have a stockless wreck in some kind of .44 Rim Fire that I was thinking of converting, too.  Then I saw that there were tiny cracks in the receiver shoulders and decided it was a wall-hanger after all.  This, as far as I can tell, must have happened on firing the original blackpowder rimfire cartridges.

On those early models, from my reading, the breechblock, as well as the frame, is some kind of poorly-characterized cast iron.  Even if you fill in the rimfire notch in the block, and somehow contrive a centerfire firing pin, it is still going to be even more marginal for a centerfire cartridge than the now notorious cast frame/forged block Marlin-Ballards.

IP Logged

Redsetter
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #2 - Apr 27th, 2018 at 9:43am
Print Post  
rraffl wrote on Apr 27th, 2018 at 8:46am:
I have a Merwin and Bray Civil War Ballard in 56-56 and am wondering if I should have it converted to center fire.

Center-fire what?  Not too many .55 cal. CF rounds to choose from these days.