Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 [2] 3 4  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Yawing 32-40 bullets (Read 15112 times)
frnkeore
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: Yawing 32-40 bullets
Reply #15 - Mar 10th, 2017 at 12:22am
Print Post  
Ken,
I got that information from the guy that ran the Douglas Barrel machineshop (the one that you also ordered from, back in the 80's and 90's) you also knew and talked to him at that time. Although I don't remember his name now, you were the one that told me to talk to him and give your name, when I ordered barrels from them.

I think also they say something about it on their web site and that it may also say they guaranty their twist to 1/2" but, I can't say that for sure.

As a machinist, I can tell you that if torque is applied to a a rod to push or pull anything, it will flex and even though a button has a pitch to it, it's path can vary while being pushed or pulled, the more force, the more flex and variation can occur. Wear will case more force to be need and that can also cause variation.

But, basically, that what Douglas told me about their barrel making process and twist guaranty.

Frank 

ASSRA Member #696, ISSA Member #339
YIMAIM  
IP Logged

Travelor

Reply #16 - Mar 10th, 2017 at 6:55am
Print Post  
Always amazes me how the threads "evolve" from the original question into something totally different.

Well, I guess I should not be amazed as they all seem to change..........

IP Logged

QuestionableMaynard8130
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #17 - Mar 10th, 2017 at 8:11am
Print Post  
"the journey is half the fun" Grin

actually we do the same all the time in in verbal conversations we just don't usually see them laid out in a black and white linear format so its not obvious. Wink

Some of the most informative information I've enjoyed here on the site over the years has been in the digressions; which regrettable are not usually accessible for later reference. Shocked

sacred cows make the best burger

IP Logged