Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Haenel/Aydt disassembly (Read 5767 times)
sharps4590

Haenel/Aydt disassembly
Nov 7th, 2016 at 7:55am
Print Post  
I have a first iteration of an "Original Haenel/Aydt".  Occasionally I am getting a failure to fire and the firing pin strike has always been light.  Whether spring, crud or firing pin difficulties I have no idea.  I want to take it down and give it a thorough cleaning and at least look at the internals but I have precious little idea where to start.  Is there a take down description or exploded view available some where or is it possible someone could explain the process?  I've been dinking with rifles for 50 years and while definitely not remotely close to being a gunsmith I am quite mechanically inclined, handy, patient and cautious.  

Thanks!!

Vic

IP Logged

oneatatime
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: Haenel/Aydt disassembly
Reply #1 - Nov 7th, 2016 at 10:30am
Print Post  
Unlatch and remove the trigger plate. Rotate the takedown lever clockwise until it just clears the extractor (the shaft the block pivots on is keyed and the slot will line up just after the extractor is cleared). Push or pull out the shaft. remove the extractor and the block assembly will drop out. At least that is the way I remember it.

IP Logged

sharps4590

Reply #2 - Nov 7th, 2016 at 2:13pm
Print Post  
one, does the trigger assembly simply lift out?  It appears so.

IP Logged

LONG RANGE
Senior Forum Member

Reply #3 - Nov 7th, 2016 at 4:23pm
Print Post  
Yes it does. Make sure the trigger assembly clears the wood around it. When you get the trigger out , you can't help but marvel at the workmanship that went into the making of it.

IP Logged

oneatatime
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #4 - Nov 7th, 2016 at 4:55pm
Print Post  
Yeah, it is hooked on the forward end so just lift the hind end.

IP Logged

sharps4590

Reply #5 - Nov 7th, 2016 at 5:29pm
Print Post