Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic breech seat 45-70? (Read 3461 times)
Fearless
Participating Member

breech seat 45-70?
Apr 25th, 2016 at 12:13pm
Print Post  
I'm new to breech seating; tried it successfully with 38-55 and 32-40. Love it. Anyone breech seat a 45-70? Mine's an Axtell Sharps 1877 model with 34-inch barrel. I shoot black only. Been looking at tapered bullet mold availability. Nothing so far. Perhaps that's the answer to my question.

IP Logged

frnkeore
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: breech seat 45-70?
Reply #1 - Apr 25th, 2016 at 1:05pm
Print Post  
I shot my 45/70, Douglas barreled, Borchart for a few years, BSed. I shot many loads in it, both smokeless and duplex BP with very good results. I used cylinderical bullets from 430 - 500 gr and won my share of over 40 cal matches. I actually never shot it fixed. It tore my rotor cuff in 1996 and I wasn't able to shoot again for many years. 

When shooting BP, remember that you will use a lot more BP when shooting BSed and that's one reason it did what it did, to my shoulder. That load was 70 gr 1F (GOEX) and 15 gr 296 with a 500 gr bullet.

You don't have to have a tapered bullet to BS but, it can't be over .001 larger than your groove diameter. If you can modify the base band (ream), I would suggest a mold that is groove diameter or no more than .001 under groove, then open the base band to .001 - .002 over groove diameter so it will seal the bore when fired.

Frank

ASSRA Member #696, ISSA Member #339
YIMAIM  
IP Logged

westerner
Frequent Elocutionist

deleted posts and threads
record holder.

Reply #2 - Apr 25th, 2016 at 1:53pm
Print Post  
This Paul Jones bullet is the only commercial bullet I know that is tapered. Tapered to much in my opinion. Shoots so so loaded fixed with BP. 

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links)

Jerry Tinker used to BS his Martini 45-70 when shooting mid range and long range. Worked good.