Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3 4 Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Traditional 28's Traditional Cartridges Only (Read 13406 times)
JLouis
Frequent Elocutionist

Traditional 28's Traditional Cartridges Only
Apr 23rd, 2016 at 5:48pm
Print Post  
What happened to this group this site is short on 28 Caliber information. Haven't seen much of anything posted in a couple of years now or since it was formed for that matter. Not even from the originator who worked so hard to setup up this traditional only group? If memory serves me right Tenex was the last or possibly the only who posted any information and I beleave he was shooting a 28-30.

Outside of the traditional rules established for that group, I have been using a 28 in competition for a couple of years now but being a non-traditional cartridge I wasn't allowed to provide any input
so here is what I am currently using. 
If anyone else out there is shooting a 28 traditional or otherwise that might have some positive information to share with this group please post it!
I am using a traditional style rifle that I built around a FBW's Model J non traditional action.
Douglas 12 Twist
The case is the 25-35 blown out to 28 and thus called the 28-35SS by those in our group who have also chambered thier rifles with the same chamber reamer of which now makes five of us.
MOS 147gr. Bullet Breech Seated
CCI 200 Primers
JJ 250 Lube
12.0 grs. 300MP 
Darr 154gr. Truncated Bullet Breech Seated
13.0 grs. 300MP
CCI 200 Primers
JJ250 Lube
Both bullets and loads shoot extremely well and the use of wads is not required with this case so none are being used.

This rifle shoots with the best of them when I do my part, the 28's are extremely accurate by nature and very enjoyable to shoot. I am actually quite surprised that very few are being used in competition outside of our group of competitors?

JLouis

" It Is Better To Now Have Been A Has Been Than A Never Was Or A Wanna Be "

IP Logged

frnkeore