Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Blow Tube - Barrel Wipe question (Read 15135 times)
Roscoe
Participating Member

Blow Tube - Barrel Wipe question
Mar 30th, 2016 at 8:33pm
Print Post  
I'm new to the black powder world.  Have my rifle, and many other assorted items.  I've shot some smokeless just to get the feel of the rifle, scope sighted in etc.  I'm in the process of using black powder only and here lies my question.

Some people use a blow tube only between shots.  Some only wipe between shots.  Then again some people use a blow tube and wipe between shots.

To those of you that blow and wipe.  What order is this done in?  Blow 1st then wipe?  Wipe 1st then blow?

IP Logged

boats
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: Blow Tube - Barrel Wipe question
Reply #1 - Mar 30th, 2016 at 8:40pm
Print Post  
Different opinions on this one but,

Reason for the blow tube is BPCS 2 1/2 minute  5 shot relay from cross sticks wiping with a rod takes up a lot of time. Blowing much faster and easier.

Unlimited time wiping will give better results. Even in BPCS many have wiping down to quick and easy not blowing at all. One wet one dry is my routine. Two rods.

I never saw anybody do both , it's one or the other.

Boats

IP Logged

gunlaker
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #2 - Mar 30th, 2016 at 9:40pm
Print Post  
My schuetzen rifles work best when wiped clean between shots.  Three damp patches and then a dry one for the chamber only.  In my rifles leaving the bore slightly damp works best.

Steve Garbe wrote of blowtubing and then following with a dry patch.  I have not ever tried that but will someday.  Based on published WSU/NRC match results, his approach is definitely worth trying.   

If you are talking about shooting silhouettes or target rifle where there are time constraints it's probably best to pick one or the other.

Chris.

IP Logged

boats
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #3 - Mar 30th, 2016 at 9:52pm
Print Post