Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Falling Block Works action (Read 7382 times)
Blexter
Ex Member

Falling Block Works action
Mar 17th, 2016 at 10:26pm
Print Post  
I am a newbie on this site and request some info help please.

I have a fully engraved (aftermarket) J model FBW's action.  It is from the early 70's and never been barreled - 40+ year old new.
I have not decided whether to sell it or finish it.  If I finish it, what caliber and  barrel (round/oct) etc.
I do not know the market and have not been able to find much about it's value.  I will post pics when I figure out how.
Any info will be appreciated

IP Logged

watchthewind
Oldtimer

Re: Falling Block Works action
Reply #1 - Mar 17th, 2016 at 10:32pm
Print Post  
A 32-40 is never a bad idea  Smiley

ASSRA Member # 11408

IP Logged

blk43

Reply #2 - Mar 17th, 2016 at 10:46pm
Print Post  
As recently as two years ago I bought two actions from Mr. FIX who is the owner.  The actions were $400 each and it's my understanding he is sold out.  I just purchased a complete rifle for $800 which I thought was exceptional.  Depending on the quality of the engraving it may be worth $800 to $1000, to me at least.  No offense meant, just my opinion.  I have 4 of the actions and love them.
Bruce

BLK

IP Logged

Blexter
Ex Member

Reply #3 - Mar 17th, 2016 at 10:58pm
Print Post  
This action will accept almost anything up to 45-70+
It would be easier to chamber for a rimmed case because the extractor would need serious modifying for a rimless case.
32-40 would be fine
The question is,  I don't know the interest for such an old case as opposed to 7.62 Russian or 30-30 for example.  Does nostalgia rule or a more popular case?

What are the most popular "western" rounds or does it matter?
thanks

IP Logged

JLouis
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #4 - Mar 17th, 2016 at 11:02pm
Print Post