Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) "Newbie" question (Read 14685 times)
Chris C
Senior Forum Member

"Newbie" question
Feb 13th, 2014 at 9:59pm
Print Post  
I'm a newbie on the forum.  Been lurking for quite a while now and just signed up a couple of days ago.  Really great site and I can't believe how many really knowledgeable individuals there are “living” here.    

I come from a background in Marlin lever action rifles.  Recently got the “hots” for a Marlin 1893 in .38-55.  The group I'm a part of shoots lever actions at “dingers” up to 1000 yards away.  But something in the back of my mind keeps hollering “single-shot”.  So I started looking at the likes of C. Sharps, Shiloh Sharps, Pendersoli and Uberti.  During that journey, I kept getting tugged to 1885 High Walls and can't get them off my mind.

Okay, so as I “wandered” in my drunken stupor, all the while dreaming of High Walls, someone said I needed to go to this site because “they know everything about single shot rifles there.”  So here I am!  And I have to say, I'm having a ball reading all I can and looking at all the beautiful firearms.  But I've just come across a “puzzlement” today.  The reproduction rifles (I know, you guys look down on them) shoot smokeless powder cartridges.  So do these older rifles like I see here on the forum (Hepburns, High Walls, Schutzen, etc. and a ton of other names I've never heard of) shoot smokeless, or am I looking at BPC?  I absolutely don't want to load Black Powder.  It's got me wondering if maybe I need to just tuck my tail and go back to my “repros” and be happy.

Any comments to help a fledgling?

Chris
IP Logged

bnice
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: "Newbie" question
Reply #1 - Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:32pm
Print Post  
Most of us shoot smokeless. You just have to know if your rifle is capable, which Hiwalls are. We are shooting plain base cast bullets below 1500 FPS (ussually).

IP Logged

JLouis