Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Alloying Bullet Metal (Read 10437 times)
creedmoormatch
Ex Member

Alloying Bullet Metal
Jul 25th, 2013 at 6:38pm
Print Post  
  A well know printed source writes; quote " Melt the lead first and cover it with powdered charcoal and thereafter keep the surface covered"

I have been casting lead bullets for approx 20 years and have never covered my molten lead with powdered charcoal.  What gives with the powered charcoal in the lead melt?

Does it (the charcoal) not get into the ladle each time it is immersed into the mix and then into the mold and become part of the final cast bullet?

I would like to know what others say on such procedures.

Creedmoormatch

IP Logged

ssdave
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: Alloying Bullet Metal
Reply #1 - Jul 25th, 2013 at 6:56pm
Print Post  
The function of the powdered charcoal is to burn and use up the oxygen on the surface of the metal so that the surface doesn't oxidize.  Of course, it will float, and should stay on top of the puddle in the ladle and not get into the mold.  That's good in theory.   

I'd not do it myself.  I find that when anything is floating on the melt, I get inclusions in the bullets, so I skim about every 10 to 20 bullets depending on how much dross forms on the melt surface.

dave

IP Logged

JLouis
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #2 - Jul 25th, 2013 at 7:15pm
Print Post  
CMM it is in reference to using a bottom pour pot.

" It Is Better To Now Have Been A Has Been Than A Never Was Or A Wanna Be "

IP Logged

CaryT

Reply #3 - Jul 25th, 2013 at 10:00pm
Print Post  
I agree completely Dave.
Cary Wink

IP Logged

boats
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #4 - Jul 25th, 2013 at 10:39pm
Print Post  
Used to hear about using Kitty Litter for the same thing. I prefer to skim often add nothing to the mix.  Ladle pour

Boats

IP Logged

JLouis
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #5 - Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:37am
Print Post