Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 [2] 3  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) At the range today (Read 13327 times)
CanoeRoller
Ex Member

Re: At the range today
Reply #15 - Jun 20th, 2013 at 11:08pm
Print Post  
Here are some links that can help explain the basics of black powder loading,

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links)

Good luck with your black powder shooting  - once I started more than 20 year ago, I pretty much put all my modern firearms away.  BP is more challenging and a heck of a lot more fun.

IP Logged

Kermit1945
Oldtimer

Reply #16 - Jun 20th, 2013 at 11:15pm
Print Post  
I often have this problem with feigning ignorance--I'm believed. Undecided

"Speed's fine, but accuracy's final." Bill Jordan
"Anything worth doing is worth doing slowly." Mae West

IP Logged

BigOtto
Ex Member

Reply #17 - Jun 21st, 2013 at 6:17am
Print Post  
A lot of information to sift through here.  
Yes, this is my first attempt at BP Cartridge loading.
Yes, I have Venturino's book.
Yes, My chronograph was probably too close to the muzzle.
Yes, I used a drop tube.
No, I did not compress the load further before seating the bullet.
My bullet lube is Buck Emmert's Lube Formula and I pan lubed my bullets.
The cardboard wad was cut from tablet backing with a  7/16" stainless gasket punch.
I am using a Lee 500gr bullet mold, what are your opinions of this bullet?
Are the other available bullet molds significantly better?
Are the pre-lubed store bought bullets significantly better?

So, it seems there is more to this than what the primer has to offer on the surface.  For the life of me I cannot sit here and tell you what I have done either correctly or incorrectly.  I do not know anyone else that loads BP cartridge.  Heck, I am the most experienced smokeless cartridge handloader I know. 

I will check out the links posted here and see what else I learn.

Thanks for the help.

IP Logged

boats
Frequent Elocutionist