Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) new here and casting question (Read 6506 times)
hobbspal
Ex Member

new here and casting question
May 26th, 2013 at 1:49pm
Print Post  
hi everyone,
this is my first post and i want to give a big howdy to everyone.  i've been lurking for some time since i got interested in bpcr.  i came into this though a friend who was shooting trapdoors.  i did my research and ended up ordering a cpa 45/70 with kelley sights, since my friend had all the reloading gear for it.  when he saw what i'd ordered, he also ordered a cpa 45/70 except for a mva scope.

we've been out several times and have been reloading with bullets he cast previously.  yesterday, i went to his place for our first joint casting session.  i'm a machinist by trade, so i wanted to see what the difference was between the two molds we were using.  both are lyman 457132  535gr postell.

i found that all of what we were casting were out of round by .002 to .004 with most in the .003 range.  

we have a 75 lb lead pot running at 810f.  the lead is 40/1.

i'm hoping someone will pass on some valuable experience.  will high end paul jones and the like make a difference?  i'm thinking its a temperature thing.  

also, what is the acceptible limit for out of round.

thanks in advance for reading this.

IP Logged

John in PA
Oldtimer

Re: new here and casting question
Reply #1 - May 26th, 2013 at 3:59pm
Print Post