Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5 Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) BSing 22rf, your oppinion (Read 21303 times)
frnkeore
Frequent Elocutionist

BSing 22rf, your oppinion
Oct 17th, 2012 at 2:06pm
Print Post  
I was surprised at the remarks made on the other BSing thread. I'd like to continue the other thread   w/o the controversy and just be able to answer questions about the actual process and not fight about it's use. So, I'm starting this thread to deal with those issues.

As posted, I've been shooting BSed 22rf since 1989. I was Scuetzen Meister in those days for Jefferson State Schuetzen Society and checked the rule book before stating this. There were no rules restricting 22rf's in anyway at that time, nor until 1997 when I stopped shooting for the next 15 years. I found no opposition to it at any match I attended and I won the Springfield, Oregon, RF match (the largest match in OR) the the fall of 1994 with Chuck Boardman and Tommy Mason being 2nd and third. There was never a protest filed or any negative things said about it in those days. Both men still remember the days that I bSed and I shot BSed at Tommy's Stars and Stripes Match two years ago w/o any controversy or questioning of this type loading, my first big match in 15 years and both men were in attendance.  

In November of last year, I posted about this and there was a 5 page discussion that ensued that ended with the BSing of 22rf being allow by the BOD. You can read the whole discussion by clicking on the link in the other thread.

The main thing I would like to know regarding this is why there seems to be such opposition to it by some people. It's not anything that anyone that shoots BSed CF can't do and at 50 cents per trigger pull for RF ammo, I would have thought it would have been welcomed. Shooting match quality RF ammo is five times more expensive than shooting CF and shooting RF's BSed is no more expensive than than shooting CF BSed.