Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Keep That Screw TIGHT - Lesson Learned (Read 4582 times)
John Boy
Ex Member

Keep That Screw TIGHT - Lesson Learned
Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:31pm
Print Post  
Last week was at the range with a 32-40 CPA and a 12X Fecker.  I couldn't hold a group to save my life.  I quit after trying with 35 BS rounds at 100yds running the elevation setting up and down.  

Yesterday, took the barrel off in preparation of sending the receiver & forearm to Paul for new 38-72 and 40-65 barrels.

The hex head barrel locking screw was better than a 3/4 turn loose before I even started to loosen it.  No wonder the groups were pitiful!  Lesson learned!

IP Logged

rhbrink

Re: Keep That Screw TIGHT - Lesson Learned
Reply #1 - Aug 30th, 2012 at 8:24am
Print Post  
I learned another loose screw lesson on the CPA action. I was shooting my 38-55 working up some offhand loads for some 100 shooting and all of a sudden I started shooting vertical groups. I'm talking about 10 to 12 inch groups at 100 yards of a bench. This load had been preforming real well with 10 holding under one inch all day long. I could not figure out what happened so went home pulled some bullets powder and everything was right. As I was cleaning the rifle I noticed the screw that holds the hammer was turning as I cocked the hammer back. I would have thought that would not have made that much difference so the next time at the range I made sure that screw was tight checking every 4 or 5 shots and makes all the difference in the world. The finial solution was to back the screw out a bit exposing some threads in the action and puting a drop of lock-tight on the threads and running the screw back in, no more problems.

Richard

IP Logged

JLouis
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #2 - Aug 30th, 2012 at 11:57am
Print Post