Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Bertram brass annealing??? (Read 11550 times)
QuestionableMaynard8130
Frequent Elocutionist

Bertram brass annealing???
Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:46pm
Print Post  
I just received my first (of 3) boxes of Bertram 9.5x47R brass from Graf's

I know that in the past Bertram brass had a reputation for splitting, at least in the smaller cases.    This is a short-bodied long necked nominal 35 cal case based on a 11mm mauser-type case.  The neck and shoulder combined are nearly the same length as the body.  I am concerned with case failure and am wondering if Bertram has solved their problem or if I need to anneal the cases myself. These case do not show any discoloration in the neck or shoulder that I associate with annealing.

Do Bertram cases split in the neck, the shoulder or the body?   
I know there are different methods of annealing used by members.  I have been shooting and reloading for close to 50 years and never had to anneal a case---yet.   I am trying to understand how much of the case needs to be annealed.

sacred cows make the best burger

IP Logged

frnkeore
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: Bertram brass annealing???
Reply #1 - Jun 13th, 2012 at 12:00am
Print Post  
If you notice, most domestic brass is anealed back to the shoulder area. I'd recomend that you try that first with ten or less. Shoot them a few times each and see how it goes.

From how your discribing the neck and shoulder, I wouldn't go to much farther back w/o standing the base in water.

Frank

ASSRA Member #696, ISSA Member #339
YIMAIM  
IP Logged

QuestionableMaynard8130
Frequent Elocutionist

Reply #2 - Jun 13th, 2012 at 8:02am
Print Post  
With the short body that makes sense, but how do I get an even heat?  Some methods call for holding and twirling the case with your fingers to get even heat.  Or is it even really neccessary since brass is a pretty efficient conductor?

IP Logged

JLouis
Frequent Elocutionist