Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) cast bullet sizing (Read 10739 times)
Jaeger 6

cast bullet sizing
Mar 21st, 2011 at 2:45pm
Print Post  
Good Morning. I have the 8.15x46R cartridge in two wehrman gewehrs and an Aydt single shot. Their bores all measure .316 dia.  luckily. 

My question is simple...with cast bullets, do I shoot 316 dia , 318 diam or even the 320 diam cast bullets in these bores? I had a friend give me a couple boxes of german made H&N cast bullets for the guns...they are supposed to be very accurate and the design was intended for this cartridge...but they are .320 dia bullets. Do I shoot them as is or should I run them through a sizer die? 

I am new to the cast bullet game, and am trying to figure out which dies to get too. 

thanks for your time.

Ben

IP Logged

frnkeore
Frequent Elocutionist

Re: cast bullet sizing
Reply #1 - Mar 21st, 2011 at 3:10pm
Print Post  
The bullets you got should be "stop ring" bullets, meaning that one band will be bigger to hold it at the case mouth. They are made to fit some what loose in the case and the stop ring works like a seating die to hold OAL.

For cast bullets in general, if they cast round and and .001-.003 over groove, don't size them. Pan lube them and get them into the case (if you have to)  by flaring the mouth of the case or breech seat them.

I wish that there were more molds made for the .316 groove (thats what mine is too) but, there just aren't many. Lyman made a GC but, they're hard to find (on Ebay) and expensive.

I breech seat mine and use 14.5 gr 4227 with a 170 gr bullet. I've never shot fixed in it but, about 13-14 gr of 4227 should be the range.

Frank

ASSRA Member #696, ISSA Member #339
YIMAIM  
IP Logged

Schuetzendave
Frequent Elocutionist

Retired Ex-Shooter

Reply #2 - Mar 21st, 2011 at 3:31pm
Print Post  
Most cast bullet shooters shoot bullets with the base band .001" to .002" wider than the groove diameter.