Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Reloading .50-45 (Read 12127 times)
bluelake
Ex Member

Reloading .50-45
Oct 29th, 2010 at 12:13am
Print Post  
This past summer, I bought pre-made .50-45 cartridges from Gad Custom Cartridges to test out my RRB carbine.  I plan to take up reloading to save on costs and also to adjust things later on.  Also, I plan to do some reloading for other cartridge rifles I have.

Here is what I plan to buy:

• Lee Challenger Breech Lock Single Stage Press Kit
  • Winchester Large Rifle Primers #8-1/2
  • Die sets for each caliber
  • Case length gauges

I already have .50-70 brass, Goex FFG, .515 mold

Am I in error on anything on my list?

Question--what dies, shell holder, etc. should I use for this cartridge?  For case length, George Layman mentioned 1.37".  However, the cartridges I received from Gad were .56-50 brass and 1.17".  

I'm new to reloading, so please forgive my questions (and I'm sure I will have more).

IP Logged

merle
Ex Member

Re: Reloading .50-45
Reply #1 - Oct 29th, 2010 at 11:36am
Print Post  
I would get (because I use it in reloading my RB) the lee universal decapping die.

Reason:    If you are using BP, you may not want to full length resize.
The universal decapping die will remove the primers withouth resizing the brass.   The cases may fireform to the chamber.  If that's the case, you may only want to neck resize.

If shooting BP, you might consider a compression die from BAC.   GOEX thrives on compression.    I would also recommend an over powder wad for two reasons:

1.  Gives the compression die something to "push" against.
2.  Keeps bullet lube from contaminating the powder.

And if shooting BP, a newspaper overprimer wad will tighten the group.
BAC sells the overprimer wad punches.