Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2 3  Send TopicPrint
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) breech seating ?? (Read 15867 times)
geronimo.tn
Participating Member

breech seating ??
Nov 3rd, 2008 at 10:04pm
Print Post  
Newbie question here.

Someone please explain breech seating for me.

I've read on the forum that some use a 'tool' to breech seat and have also read that it can be done with just a 'plugged' case.  Huh

How is breech seating performed,  with black or smokeless powder and what are the reasons to breech seat?

IP Logged

Paul_F.
Ex Member

Re: breech seating ??
Reply #1 - Nov 3rd, 2008 at 11:11pm
Print Post  
I'm a relative newbie to breech seating... essentially everthing I know I learned here in the last 6 months or so.

Happy to pass that on..

Breech seating is pushing your lead bullet into the rifling with whichever manner of tool is convenient and useful (more on that in a moment).  Then put your primed, powder charged case in after it.  Most often, with some sort of light wad on top to keep you from accidentally spilling any powder.

Typically, most folks seemt to think that a bullet should be seated fully in front of where the case ends in the chamber, and far enough into the rifling that the rifling engraves on the base-band of the bullet. 

As for the tool to put it there...
A case with a piece of dowel the right length in it (a "plug") will work if the rifle you're breech seating in has some camming force to the block.  That is, a rifle with a block that moves striaght up and down, with little or no bevel on the block face will be difficult to use a plugged case in... not much force can be applied.