Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Is the Husqvarna Roller a Good One (Read 8574 times)
Yellowhouse

Is the Husqvarna Roller a Good One
May 5th, 2008 at 8:52am
Print Post  
as a stepping stone to customizing.  Or leaving it in the original 12.7x44R and paying through the nose for dies, brass, etc. but having fun anyway?  

Oh yeah, it's a Type 3.
« Last Edit: May 5th, 2008 at 10:17am by Yellowhouse »  

IP Logged

Paul_F.
Ex Member

Re: Is the Husqvarna Roller a Good One
Reply #1 - May 5th, 2008 at 9:10am
Print Post  
Actually, dies from CH4D are (as I recall) about $80, and brass can be made quite easily (trim and FL size) from Starline .50 Alaskan brass.
No more difficult nor expensive than many "off the shelf" cartridges.
I'm into the 12.7x44R for WAY less money than .577 Snider or .577-450.

But to your original question;
I'm not a roller expert (by any stretch and mutilation of the definition), but since many of the early action were actually made by Remington, those at least are just fine.
I have read little that suggests that the Husqvarna made actions are any lesser quality. However, I do recall that some that have been "hot rodded" have split due to being heat-treated a bit hard.
Hopefully if I bunged that piece of information up, someone with more complete knowledge will speak up and correct me.

Oh, and I'm getting 3"-4" groups at 100 yards with my 12.7x44R using 4759 and bullets out of a $20 lee .50-70 Mold, and that's with ME (a casting noob) doing the casting, and not sorting the bullets in any meaningful way.  I have one 8 shot group that's 2-3/4", but I need to duplicate it before I can say "this rifle shoots 2-3/4" groups".

Paul F.

IP Logged

Mozark

Swede Rolling Blocks
Reply #2 - May 5th, 2008 at 12:47pm
Print Post  
Yellowhouse;

I have 5 Swede RB's, and shoot them all,  so perhaps I can shed some light here, although you might go here first:

(You need to Login or Register to view media files and links);