Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic model 75 Sharps vs model 74 sharps (Read 6403 times)
Beans
Ex Member

model 75 Sharps vs model 74 sharps
Feb 4th, 2008 at 8:52pm
Print Post  

I'm new to this forum and this is my first post

I have been shooting for over 50 years , 99.9% smokless.

In my past  there has been BP  Remington pistols and a  T/C .54 Cal. ML These are long gone. (20 years) 

I am now playing with a 32-40 Win H wall made in 1887 in ( I'm shooting smokless) with a relined barrel.  The orginial caliber was also a 32-40. Smiley

In the past I had a custom made RB  replica in 38-55 win. which I used as a smokless SS for SASS  but alas it is also gone ( 14 years ago) Cry

I am looking to ease into a BP SS rifle for long range rifle.  I have decided on a Cal (40-65) and was wondering what is the advange of a Sharps model 75 vs a model 74? Undecided

By the way I found this board from a long time friend Cat1870

IP Logged

Brent
Ex Member

Re: model 75 Sharps vs model 74 sharps
Reply #1 - Feb 4th, 2008 at 9:09pm
Print Post  
Well, the model 74 looks better.  That's the most important issue. After that, it is all personal preference Smiley   

If you mean 800-1000 yds for "long range" I would go up a caliber or two were I you.  It is not essential, but I think it would serve you well.  .45-90s are hard to beat.

Brent

IP Logged

Doug_Nelson

Reply #2 - Feb 4th, 2008 at 10:16pm
Print Post  
Beans,