Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Scope magnification for 200 yard benchrest (Read 10660 times)
Vic
Ex Member

Scope magnification for 200 yard benchrest
Aug 15th, 2005 at 9:52pm
Print Post  
Hello, I'm new to Schuetzen and tried out my first one last weekend and had a lot of fun.  I used my two BCPR rifles (Ballard in 40-50SS and Shiloh Sharps in 45-70) in the "big bore iron sight" category.

If I understand correctly, I could enter into the "center fire" category, but I would then be competing with the smaller calibers.  I've thought about putting a scope on either rifle so I could try out the "center fire scoped" category.  I'll keep to the traditional categories, so I understand I need to use the Unertl/Targetspot type of scopes with external adjustments.

I've thought about installing a MVA 6X scope, so I could use my rifle for both Schuetzen and BPCR scoped competitions... but I"m not sure how much I'm sacrificing for the 200 yard bench rest matches by using a 6X versus a 12X or 24X... Any comments on that issue?  If there is a difference in shooter performance, then I may consider getting dedicated scopes for each type of competition and not try to settle for a compromise.  Any advice appreciated.  Thanks.

Vic

IP Logged

40_Rod
Frequent Elocutionist

Extremism in the persuit
of accuracy is not a
vice

Re: Scope magnification for 200 yard benchrest
Reply #1 - Aug 16th, 2005 at 11:37am
Print Post  
Generaly for bench rest shooting the higher the magnification the better. The trade off is as the magnification goes up so does mirage. If you were just going to shoot Bench rest schuetzen I would tell you to get something in the 24 to 32 power range. but to do both 6 power should do fine.

40 Rod

IP Logged

PETE
Ex Member

Reply #2 - Aug 16th, 2005 at 1:07pm
Print Post  
Vic,